Our First Lesson….

Tonight, May 4th, I had my first real lesson on Jure since November! It was greater than I could have asked for, she felt super, and I felt like I was back riding in the Kathy Connelly clinic that I had ridden in almost exactly a year ago.

We (Tanya Rennie, Jure and I) tried a new exercise; we started out with an upbeat walk, halting into each corner, then focusing on bending and maintaining balance throughout. We then warmed up the trot, staying elastic, relaxed and on the bit, while largely cutting corners. Once we had warmed up, we continued the same exercise at the trot, but walking into and through the corner. Coming out, we kept Jure light on my leg, seat, and hand aids, ringing my wrists as if they were bells to keep her light and getting the best possible trot right from the get-go. A few walk-canter-walk transitions were one of the greatest highlights of my ride (even though I could highlight the whole thing!); since I have been struggling a bit with the canter depart, maintenance, and depart on Atara, cantering on Jure was a dream!

Leave a Reply

